Skip to content
Top Nursing Schools

Lone Star College System · Nursing Departments

Vocational Nursing Certificate Level II

LPN/LVNPrelicensure — leads to a first nursing license examPublic

Program facts last verified October 6, 2026. Each fact links to the official page it came from.

Overview

One-year vocational nursing certificate leading to Texas licensure, offered at LSC-Kingwood (including the East Aldine Center) and LSC-Tomball.

Credential
Practical / vocational nursing
Delivery
On-campus
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
One year program
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Credits
Not verified
Campus
Lone Star College-Kingwood — TX; Lone Star College-Tomball — TX

Entry background & licensure

Who can apply
New to nursing (no prior degree needed)
Licensure stage
Prelicensure: prepares students who are not yet licensed for a first license exam
Licensure exam
Graduates are eligible to take the NCLEX credentialing exam developed by NCSBN
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026

Admissions requirements

Prerequisite courses
BIOL 2404 with a grade of C or higher (BIOL 2401 and 2402 accepted in its place)
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Minimum GPA
Minimum 2Cumulative GPA of 2.0 in college-level courses
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Health & immunization requirements
Current AHA Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers certificate
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Other requirement
Admission is points-based on a program scoring sheet; applicants are ranked
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026
HESI Admission Assessment (A2)
Required — published minimum 70Minimum 70 (700 for Critical Thinking) on each section
Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026

Requirements not listed here are unknown to us — not “not required”.

Tuition & fees

Shown exactly as the school publishes it, with its fee basis. Per-credit, per-term, annual and total-program figures are never treated as comparable.

Program tuition: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Institution-wide tuition (all students, not nursing-specific)
  • Average undergraduate tuition, in-district, full-time, 2023-24: $2,472
  • Average undergraduate tuition, in-state, full-time, 2023-24: $5,544
  • Average undergraduate tuition, out-of-state, full-time, 2023-24: $6,960
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 6, 2026

Start terms & deadlines

A date without a year printed next to it on the school's page is shown as “date not confirmed”. Passed dates are never rolled forward.

Clinical, simulation & campus requirements

Clinical arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We never infer a placement guarantee from marketing wording; only arrangements the school states are shown.

Accreditation & approval

Program accreditation, state board approval and institutional accreditation are separate. Records below cover this program's degree level at this institution as the body lists it.

State board of nursing approval

  • BON— Texas Board of Nursing

    Scope as stated by the source

    Source: lonestar.edu · verified October 6, 2026
    Approved

Sources

  1. lonestar.edu/nursing-dept.htm — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026
  2. lonestar.edu/nursing-requirements.htm — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026
  3. lonestar.edu/programs-of-study/vocational-nursing-certificates.htm — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026

Spotted something out of date? Request a correction.

Lone Star College System

Nursing AAS Degree: Integrated Curriculum Path

ADNPrelicensure
  • Lone Star College-Kingwood — TX · Lone Star College-Montgomery — TX · Lone Star College-North Harris — Houston, TX · Lone Star College-Tomball — TX
  • On-campus
  • Two-year program; Basic Track completion time is four semesters following admission
  • For: New to nursing (no prior degree needed)
  • Next deadline: April 8, 2027 (2027 (term not stated))

Not yet verified: tuition

View Program

Lone Star College System

Nursing AAS Degree: Transition to Professional Nursing Path

ADNLPN / LVN-to-RNPrelicensure
  • Lone Star College-Kingwood — TX · Lone Star College-Montgomery — TX · Lone Star College-North Harris — Houston, TX · Lone Star College-Tomball — TX
  • On-campus · Online coursework
  • Transition Track completion time is three semesters (summer-fall-spring) following admission
  • For: Licensed practical / vocational nurse; Other health professional (e.g. paramedic)
  • Next deadline: April 1, 2027 (2027 (term not stated))

Not yet verified: tuition

View Program

Lone Star College System

Bachelor of Science in Nursing, RN-to-BSN

BSNRN-to-BSNFor licensed nurses
  • Lone Star College-Montgomery — TX
  • One and two year program options · 120 credits total for the two-year program plan; the one-year plan lists 32 credit hours
  • For: RN with an associate degree or diploma
  • Next deadline: June 22, 2027 (Fall 2027)

Not yet verified: tuition

View Program