Skip to content
Top Nursing Schools

East Carolina University · College of Nursing

Nurse Anesthesia DNP

DNPBSN-to-DNPCRNAFor licensed nurses (postlicensure)Public

Award: Doctor of Nursing Practice

Program facts last verified October 6, 2026. Each fact links to the official page it came from.

Overview

A 36-month DNP program preparing registered nurses for national certification as nurse anesthetists. Applicants need critical care experience and complete an addendum packet and interview.

Credential
Doctor of Nursing Practice
Pathway
BSN-to-DNP
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Specialty track
Nurse Anesthesia
Delivery
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
36 months
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Credits
Not verified
Campus
Health Sciences Campus (Greenville) — Greenville, NC

Entry background & licensure

Who can apply
RN with a BSN
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Licensure stage
Postlicensure: for nurses who already hold a license
License requirement
Current non-restricted RN license to apply; North Carolina RN license required upon admission
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026

Admissions requirements

Prior degree
Baccalaureate in nursing or master's entry degree in nursing from an accredited nursing program
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Minimum GPA
Minimum 3Preferred minimum undergraduate BSN GPA of 3.0Recommended
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Work experience
1 year minimumOne year of adult critical care experience as an RN
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
References
Four professional references (two on forms in the nurse anesthesia addendum packet)
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
Interview
Personal interview with a member of the Nurse Anesthesia Admissions Committee
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
GRE General Test
RequiredAcceptable score within past five years; preferred combined verbal and quantitative at least 300 and analytical at least 4
Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026

Requirements not listed here are unknown to us — not “not required”.

Tuition & fees

Shown exactly as the school publishes it, with its fee basis. Per-credit, per-term, annual and total-program figures are never treated as comparable.
  • $50,638.61 (basis not stated by the school)

    In-state — In-state

    Includes: Listed as tuition and fees in the program expenses summary

    Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
  • $96,233.57 (basis not stated by the school)

    Out-of-state — Out-of-state

    Includes: Listed as tuition and fees in the program expenses summary

    Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026

Other fees

Institution-wide tuition (all students, not nursing-specific)
  • Average undergraduate tuition, in-state, full-time, 2023-24: $4,452
  • Average undergraduate tuition, out-of-state, full-time, 2023-24: $20,729
  • Required fees, in-state undergraduates, full-time, 2023-24: $2,909
  • Average graduate tuition, in-state, full-time, 2023-24: $4,749
  • Average graduate tuition, out-of-state, full-time, 2023-24: $17,898
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 6, 2026

Start terms & deadlines

Start terms: Summer Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026

  • Applications accepted each January through August 31

    Summer

    Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
    Date not confirmed

A date without a year printed next to it on the school's page is shown as “date not confirmed”. Passed dates are never rolled forward.

Clinical, simulation & campus requirements

Clinical arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We never infer a placement guarantee from marketing wording; only arrangements the school states are shown.

Accreditation & approval

Program accreditation, state board approval and institutional accreditation are separate. Records below cover this program's degree level at this institution as the body lists it.

Nursing program accreditation

  • CCNE— Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education

    Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) (DNP) · College of Nursing, Greenville, NC

    Initial: November 5, 2014 · Most recent: October 30, 2024 · Term expires: June 30, 2035 · Next review: Fall 2034

    Source: directory.ccnecommunity.org · verified October 6, 2026
    Accredited
  • COA— Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA)

    Scope as stated by the source

    Source: nursing.ecu.edu · verified October 6, 2026
    Accredited

Sources

  1. CCNE-Accredited Programs directory (NC) — Accreditor directory, verified October 6, 2026
  2. nursing.ecu.edu/about/accreditation/ — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026
  3. nursing.ecu.edu/dnp/crna/ — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026
  4. nursing.ecu.edu/dnp/crna/admission/ — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026
  5. nursing.ecu.edu/dnp/crna/expenses/ — Official school page, verified October 6, 2026

Spotted something out of date? Request a correction.

East Carolina University

RN to BSN Option

BSNRN-to-BSNFor licensed nurses
  • Health Sciences Campus (Greenville) — Greenville, NC
  • Online coursework · Part-time
  • Four semesters / 16 months
  • For: RN with an associate degree or diploma

Not yet verified: tuition, upcoming deadline

View Program

East Carolina University

Traditional BSN

BSNPrelicensure
  • Health Sciences Campus (Greenville) — Greenville, NC
  • Four academic years plus one summer session (including general education, prerequisite and professional coursework)
  • For: New to nursing (no prior degree needed)

Not yet verified: tuition, upcoming deadline

View Program

Duke University

Nurse Anesthesia DNP

DNPBSN-to-DNPCRNAFor licensed nurses
  • Duke University School of Nursing — Durham, NC
  • 36 months
  • $2,345 per credit · All students · 2026-2027
  • For: RN with a BSN

Not yet verified: upcoming deadline

View Program